Yesterday was fabulous.

My lovely friend Paul decided that we really needed to hang out. So, he messaged me on Facebook and we set something up. We met at a cute little coffee shop (St. Thomas Roasters) and decided that we’d head to Midtown. Everyone’s been telling me I need to go to this little bookstore (Midtown Scholar), so we hit that place up and ohmygod, I love it. It doesn’t have much in the way of actual literature that I could find, but it has a nice selection of art books. There are two books I want to go back for when I have some money. A huge book on Heironymus Bosch and Robert Rauschenberg’s Haywire. There were some Francis Bacon books too, but they were on a higher shelf and I was sure I couldn’t afford them.

I also got High Fidelity, The Professor, The Picture of Dorian Gray and Mansfield Park (yeah, I’m giving Austen another shot). All those books, except for High Fidelity, are those cheapy books that like to put words all the way to the edge of the paper. It was probably a horrible idea, but the price was right. I’ll end up regretting it, I’m sure.

Then we went next door to a cute little thrift shop. I am a jewelry junkie, so that’s what I was excited about. They had a bargain table with cute plastic beaded necklaces. I got two for myself and a pair of earring for Allison. They were the cutest little heart earrings! Little blue “crystal” hearts hanging from a simply gold post. I’m horrible at describing it, but they’re really cute. I’ll be sure to take a photo of them at some point.

Next time I head downtown, I should take a camera along. I should show you the room o’ old books. And the wall of art history. Oh god, I loved it. There was another thrift shop, but Paul was out of money, for the most part, so we left to find lunch. We tried the Broad Street Market, but by the time we got there most of the vendors had packed up. I need to go back there earlier in the day because there was a stand called “Curry in a Hurry” and I was really excited about that and then really disappointed about it when I looked down and there was NO ONE IN THE STAND. Haha.

Anyway, so we hit up Chipotle (which wasn’t so bad… yum) and then went back to St. Thomas Roasters and I got a lovely peppermint mocha.  We tried to catch a really cheap movie, but nothing worth $2.00 was playing, so we wandered the mall in search of flats (for me). We were successful. I was warned not to wear them with skinny jeans and a flannel shirt around him… so I think I need to find a flannel shirt. Next time I hang out with him I’ll wear that and see if he explodes or something. *evil grin*

Peace out, people. : )

Leave a Reply

