Sloppy Jo(seph)s and oven fries.

I forgot to take a photo of  my food again. I swear to you, I’ll get better at this some day.

Promise!
Ok, so to try and make it up to you, I took a bad web cam shot of the recipe book.

I’m soooo sorry.

Oh, quick side note. I’m thinking that this whole cooking adventure is kind of inspired by that Cooking with Julia movie… or whatever. Except my chef of choice is, evidently, Martha Stewart. Kind of makes sense, since she’s kind of the modern domesticated diva. I can’t believe I use to hate her.

Anyway, the fries are easy. Take 3-4 baking potatoes, quarter them and then slice them into 1/4 inch thick pieces. Toss with a little oil, lay on a rimmed cookie sheet and season with salt and pepper. I also grated some Parmesan over them because I love that stuff. Pop them in the over for about 25 minutes at 425. They’re ready when they’re fork poke-able.

The Sloppy Jo(seph)s:

Ingredients: (to serve a normally hungry family of 4)

  • 1 tbsp canola oil (though, I used a spray of Pam and it worked well.)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1/2 red bell pepper (or green or yellow or orange)
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, run through a garlic press OR finely minced
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 lb ground beef (I’m sure turkey would substitute nicely)
  • 1 15 oz can of tomato sauce (no salt added, if possible)
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 4 whole wheat hamburger buns

Of course, I had to double it and I’m glad I did because this meant everyone in my family of 4 got to eat and I have lunch on Thursday and possibly even Friday. It’s win-win.

What you do:

  1. Chop the onion, pepper and celery. Mince the garlic.
  2. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the chopped veggies and garlic and cook until vegetables are soft. (About 5 minutes or so.) Add the ground beef (or turkey) and cook, breaking up with a wooden spoon, until no longer pink. (About 8 minutes.) Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Stir in tomato sauce, ketchup, and Worcestershire sauce into the meat mixture. Simmer for about 8 minutes. The sauce should thicken up nicely.
  4. Season with more salt or pepper, if you so desire. Spoon onto buns and devour.

Don’t use the zombie-creating Worcestershire sauce.

Leave a Reply

