Pork Paprika

Ok, ok. I know, I promised to make a non-Martha recipe. I haven’t posted any yet. Next week, I proooomise! Also, this was surprisingly good because I loved it and I don’t usually like pork. I think it should get super awesome bonus points for that.

Pork Paprika

Original Pork Paprikash by Martha.
This takes 25  minutes to just over a half hour to make if the pork is already cubed or you’re an expert meat cutter.

What you’ll need;

  • salt and pepper
  • 8 oz egg noodles
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 pork tenderloin (about 1 pound), excess fat removed and then cut into 1-in squares
  • 2 tbsp sweet paprika
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 14 oz can of diced tomatoes in juice
  • 1/2 cup fat free sour cream

What you do:

  1. Bring a pot of water to boil. Add egg noodles and cook according to package directions. Drain and add butter; stir. Cover to keep warm.
  2. While water is coming to boil, combine pork with 1 tbsp paprika; season with salt and pepper and toss to coat. In a large skillet, heat 1 tbsp oil over medium-high and cook pork until lightly browned on all sides. If you are anything like me and paranoid about undercooked pork, this will probably take at LEAST 10 minutes. I made sure mine was cooked ALL THE WAY THROUGH. Transfer pork to a plate.
  3. Reduce the heat to medium and the remaining tablespoon oil and onion to the now empty skillet. Cook onion until soft (4-5 minutes). Add the pork back in along with the remaining tablespoon paprika, the tomatoes and juice; bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and cook until sauce is slightly thickened (add water if the sauce looks too thick*), this should take about 2 to 4 minutes.
  4. Remove skillet from heat and stir in sour cream; season with salt and pepper. Serve pork paprika over noodles. Devour.

* I added water when I added the tomatoes and juice. My sauce wouldn’t thicken. I believe the solution is to add water ONLY if necessary.

Leave a Reply

