Eggs in Tomatoes.

Alright, I got the idea from Martha and I think there was a post on Smitten Kitchen about eggs and spaghetti (I’m not sure exactly where I’ve seen it). But this, I think, is mine enough to claim for myself.

Skillet Eggs

What you’ll need:

  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • red pepper flakes
  • 1 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes, drained
  • one zucchini/summer squash (optional)
  • 5 cloves of garlic, minced or run through a press
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 8 eggs

What you’ll do:

  1. Dice up the garlic (or use the garlic press), onions and zucchini.
  2. Heat 3 tablespoons of oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Saute the garlic, onion and zucchini for a few minutes, until soft. Add the red pepper flakes and saute for 2 minutes more.
  3. Add the tomatoes (crushed and diced) and simmer for 15 minutes. Reduce heat and bring sauce to a low simmer.
  4. Add eggs (one at a time) to skillet and cover. Cook for 5 minutes* (until egg whites are set) and then remove from heat, still covered, and let stand for 5 more minutes. Serve with crusty bread or noodles.

 

*Hopefully you don’t overcook your eggs like I did. I was afraid the whites weren’t actually set, so I simmered them for 10 minutes. Dumb idea, because by the time we ate them, the yolks were also set. Sad face!

Leave a Reply

