Bangers and Mash.

A few days ago, I made Bangers and Mash for my daddie! It was his birthday dinner… since momma got shake and bake chicken and macaroni, dad got a low-class meat and potatoes dish.

Let me tell you, though… it tasted phenomenal. I will probably make a trip to Karns (for their sausage) every time I need sausage now.

Best. Sausage. Ever!

Anyway, the recipe is Claire Robinson’s, from 5 Ingredient Fix.

What you’ll need:

  • 6 large thin-skinned potatoes, cut into large chunks
  • 1/4 savoy cabbage, shredded (I just chopped my into small pieces)
  • 6 large pork sausages (made sure you get good sausage!)
  • 1 large purple or red onion, thinly sliced (next time I’ll use 2 large onions)
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • salt, water and pepper

What you’ll do:

  1. Put the potatoes in a large pot and cover with heavily salted water. Bring to a boil over medium heat. Reduce the heat and simmer until tender (approximately 20 minutes). Steam the cabbage in a steamer sitting over the potato pot. They should be ready at the same time.
  2. In a large pan, brown the sausage on all sides over medium-high heat. Remove the sausage to a plate once it has browned and add the onions to the pan. Season with salt and pepper. Cook the onions until caramelized. Add water, a teaspoon at a time, to deglaze the pan. Stir in the mustard with 3/4 cup water and return the sausage to the pan to finish cooking. Simmer until the sausage is cooked through and water has reduced to a glaze over the onions, 15 minutes. (I ended up covering it for a few minutes to speed the cooking process. I never want to undercook pork and the sausage did not dry out.)
  3. Drain the potatoes, leaving a little of the cooking water in the pot. Quickly mash the potatoes (with a masher or a mixer).  Season with salt and pepper, to taste. Fold in the steamed cabbage and taste for seasonings, adjusting as necessary.
  4. Serve the sausage over or beside the mashed potatoes and cabbage. Enjoy.

(This makes EXCELLENT left overs.)

((I made beer bread muffins too. I followed the linked recipe but reduced the cooking time to 25 minutes, I believe.))

7 thoughts on “Bangers and Mash.

    • Hrm, I wonder if there’s any good, fake sausage you could substitute.

      I try to cook/bake something at least once a week. I have to learn at least one domestic skill before I “settle down.” I don’t clean, so cooking’s my only option outside of baby making.

  1. Is that your father? He looks so young and in good health. Looks like you all had a delicious dinner. What kinds of things do you use sausage in or do you just fix sausage as it is?

    • I don’t usually eat sausage, actually. So I’m not really a sausage expert. (Heh, this sounds so dirty!)

      This was just sausage as it is… mixed in with the caramelized onion. It was heavenly. Sometimes we just fry it up and serve it with whatever veggie’s on hand. It’s also regularly used in stews. (Sausage stew is a good, solid Meemaw classic for our Wednesday night supper clubs.)

    • PS: Yes. That is my dad.

      I was going to post a photo of him blowing out his imaginary candles, but I decided not to embarrass him. He looks so awesome.

      I’ll ask his permission and if he’s ok with being on my blog, I’ll post those photos too!
      (He just turned 54, I believe.)

    • Heh. God, I loved this meal!

      It’s really easy to make… and as long as you eat meat, I’m sure you can substitute any kind of sausage for it.

Leave a Reply

