Day 27: A picture of me last year vs. now. How have I changed? (Let me count the ways.)

Here are my feet in 2009.

Here’s my face in 2010. (This is when I won a baseball hat and I my dad was so excited about it. So, for his sake I put on my excited thrilled face.)

How have I changed? Well, I’ve given up on men, for the most part. In the past year, my quest for mancompany has gone downhill dramatically. Strangely enough, this doesn’t bother me too much. I’m pretty ok being “on my own.” I’m a catch and anyone who wants to ignore that can kiss my ass, you know?

I barely have a real crush at the moment. It’s a little strange, but refreshing.

A year ago, I believe I was pining over someone that wound up not happening. I was hopeful then. Now I’m just focusing on the day ahead of me. I prefer this it to false hope, so that’s a good thing.

I’m still working in the same place. Working working working. I feel like I live there. I should just get my mail delivered there. I’m a bit better at cooking because I’ve been doing it longer — fewer recipes scare me. Actually, I’m quite fond of cooking and baking now. (I still love easy recipes though. They usually taste the best anyway.)

Oh, and I have my own place now… which is a step I wanted to have behind me by this time. (Though, my parents still help me out quite a bit.)

To be honest, I haven’t changed that much in one year beyond the way I think about love and relationships. For the most part, the core part of me — my personality — hasn’t changed since my first year of college. I’m just growing up a little at a time.

6 thoughts on “Day 27: A picture of me last year vs. now. How have I changed? (Let me count the ways.)

  1. [this is good]

    (Heh.)

    I LOVE this post. It’s just…radiating with positivity and it put a smile on my face.

    I always feel weird to not have a crush, to not pine for some oblivious guy, but I believe that sappy crap about love happening when you least expect it. So take heart. Somewhere out there is a guy perfect just for you. :)

    I had to laugh at “Working working working. I feel like I live there. I should just get my mail delivered there” – because I feel the same way about my job AND I’ve had mail delivered to my workplace! Hahaha. Take a break if you can afford it. Vacations clear the mind.

    Cooking and baking are great hobbies. I’m proud to say that if I wanted to eat something, I could make it myself. I don’t know if you remember but I made a post on Vox sometime ago about Nigella’s Nutella cake? The recipe intimidated me but I made it anyway and you know how much the ingredients for that delicious, gigantic thing cost me? $21 (Singapore dollars). If sold in a bakery I’m sure it would be easily triple that! So keep cooking, keep baking. You can only get better.

    Having your own place is aweeeesome. I wish we practiced the whole moving out at 18 (or at some point without requiring getting wed) thing here. Nothing teaches you to grow up more than paying for your own way.

    • Thanks. I re-read the post to see where it was brimming with positivity, but I couldn’t find it. Haha. It sounds like this in my head: “Men suck. I work a lot. Woo, bills!”

      But, you know, I’m in a much better place now than I was a year ago… mentally, anyway. I’m learned that I don’t have to fall apart when my heart gets broken! I can cry and then move on. It’s good to know that I don’t NEED someone, so when I find someone I WANT in my life, I can make room for them.

      I’m actually taking a week off for my birthday. :) It’s starting in a few days. I’ll kick it off with a quick trip to DC for the Rally to Restore Sanity and/or Fear (I think that’s the official name) and follow it up with 5 days of no-real-plans. I’m pretty stoked, even though I’m not traveling to any far off lands.

      I’ll probably cook and bake up a storm!

  2. Well, last year, you never took the conn, and now you run earth 12 hours a day! ;-)

    Seriously, you’ve made a lot of progress over the past year. I detect less “little girl” and more “young woman”, especially in the way you deal with your parents.

    All in all, you are doing wonderfully. You are living your life on your own terms. You don’t need another person to complete you, and that is refreshing and rare. You are still exploring, still learning who you are and what that means.

    I give you an A. (Make it an A for the cute toes. ;) )

    • Thank you! :)

      I guess it’s different when you’re looking from the outside in. But, you’re right. I do deal with my parents a bit better… although I think this has a lot to do with the moving out thing. (They’re easier to deal with when I have time to escape them, haha.)

      Thanks for the good grade! I haven’t been graded in a long while.
      (PS: I love my toes. That’s why I have so many feet photos in my computer.)

  3. Pingback: 30 Days of Blogging. « A girl & happenstance::A search for some semblance of normalcy.

Leave a Reply

