Chocolate Cake.

I can’t remember if I share this with you all or not… but I made a cake in October for my uncles’ birthdays. It was FABULOUS.

The recipe came from Smitten Kitchen and can be found here.

The second time I made it I made just a few changes, but I’m not sure I’d make some of them again. (I was just trying to make it lighter/work with what I had on hand.)

What you’ll need (for the cake):

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (She wants dutch processed… I have no idea what mine was… it was just brand-x cocoa powder)
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup vegetable oil (I used Canola, but it just calls for a “neutral” vegetable oil.)
  • 1 cup sour cream (I used light sour cream both times, it was 100% fine.)
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 2 tablespoons distilled white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs

What you’ll do:

Preheat oven to 350. Mix all the above ingredients together and split between 3 round cake pans (I believe I used 9-in) if you want a three layer cake. I split it between two (well sprayed) round pans and a 12-cup cupcake pan. Bake at 350 for 30-35 minutes, until tester toothpick comes out clean.

What you’ll need (for the frosting):

  • 10 ounces cream cheese (I used lower-fat cream cheese successfully.)
  • 1 stick (4 ounces) room temp. unsalted butter (The second time I made the cake, I used a stick of margarine, I’m sure it was salted. I don’t think I’d do that again. Do they make unsalted margarine? ETA: Well, how about that, they do!)
  • 5 cups confectioners’ sugar (The second time I made this cake, I cut this back to 3 cups. I think you could too, but taste it to see if it’s sweet enough. The 5 cups makes it taste like peanut butter fudge frosting though. It’s really good. The three cups makes it takes more like peanut butter frosting… equally good, but different.)
  • 2/3 cup smooth peanut butter (I used regular old Jif  for the first version and the store brand for the second… I saw very little difference in peanut butter intensity.)

What you’ll do:

In a bowl, beat the butter and cream cheese until fluffy-like. Add peanut butter. Then add sugar a cup at a time (until it tastes right to you — just sweet enough for perfection) and continue mixing until smooth.

 

Now, when you go to assemble the cake, it works best if the cakes are refrigerated for an hour or so. Like the Smitten Kitchen points out, they’re really moist, so you’ll want to be careful when flipping them out of the pan/transferring them around. Also, putting a thin layer of icing on it and refrigerating it again for a few mintues (30, maybe?) keeps crumbs to a minimum on the final icing coating.

Ok, so now that you have the cake assembled and iced, it’s time for… THE CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER GLAAAAAZE!

 

What you’ll need (for the glaaaaaaaze):

  • 8 ounces seimsweet chocolate chips (or a bar, chopped)
  • 3 tablespoons smooth peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons light corn syrup
  • 1/2 cup half-and-half (I used fat-free half-and-half the second time around and it seemed to work out fine! It wasn’t QUITE as thick, but every little bit of fat cutting helps? You can decide how decadently rich  you want it.)

What you’ll do:

Ok, you have two options. In one, you put the chocolate chips, peanut butter and corn syrup in a double boiler type contraption and melt it over boiling water. OR you can be laaaaazy and melt it gradually in a microwave. Just do it a few seconds at a time and keep an eye on it.

After the chocolate stuff is melted and smooth, gradually stir in the half and half. Pour this glaze over your cake. Anything left in the bowl ? Feel free to eat it because it’s freakin’ delicious and you worked HARD to make this cake!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake.

    • Oh, that chocolate glaze is DELICIOUS! The whole thing is delicious, actually. If you have a special-cake-occasion coming up, you should give this cake a shot. :)

Leave a Reply

