Something relevant! (I love easy food.)

Alright, so the other night (Tuesday, I believe) I made Fettuccine Alfredo. Usually I’ve followed recipes that create the sauce seperately from the pasta. I always end up with a slightly goopy mess. I mean, it’s always delicious, but it’s always goopy.

Never. Again.

This recipe was so easy to follow. SO EASY! I mean, making Alfredo sauce usually intimidates me. It doesn’t now. Because it’s beautiful and simple and quick. I mean, you could easily make this sauce while noodles are cooking up. (If your butter wasn’t frozen like mine was… and you turn the heat up a little to get things going. I had to try and keep all my food synchronized so it would finish at the same time. More on the side in a minute.)

Do this now, please. It’s from the Pioneer Woman website and it’s fabulous. I made a few changes though to prevent a little bit of refrigerator waste and also to keep my sister happy. It was a nice little surprise win-win.

You see I sent the recipe to Allison so she could figure out how hard she’d have to work at the gym after eating it. The original recipe comes to something like 800 calories per serving. (Just fine, by my standard, but I’m not trying to keep trim and slim. I’ve embraced my inner sloth.) This was a lot for Allison. She begged me to replace the cream with half and half. I said "NO! I have cream to use!"

But it turns out I had fat free half and half expiring before the heavy cream. She wins again. Boo. It took the calorie count down to 550, I think. Don’t quote me on this… I was only half listening. I’m sure using the pure heavy cream would just make this recipe 250 calories more awesome.

My take:

  • 1 pound Fettuccine Noodles
  • 1 stick Butter (use salted… I only had unsalted on hand and I needed to salt my final product to make it taste heavenly)
  • 2 cloves of garlic (This was my "you can’t have alfredo without garlic, no" add. Just add it to the melted butter.)
  • 1 cup Heavy Cream (I changed this to 3/4 cup fat free half and half + 1/4 cup heavy cream)
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste (I let everyone put their own salt/pepper on. I’m nice like that.)
  • 2 cups Freshly Grated Parmesan Cheese

Obviously the cheese is the most important part. Don’t skimp on it or you will be sad and the Alfredo gods will come to your door to take your first born. (I guess if you’re childless, they’ll find something else to steal… like your dignity.)

But as for making it. Just follow the Pioneer Woman’s instruction. Get water boiling for the noodles (and obviously add the noodles once it’s boiling). Melt butter, add the garlic, let the flavors co-mingle for a few minutes and then add the cream. Bring the butter-cream mixture up in temperature… almost simmering, but not quite.

Then, you pour the butter-cream into a serving bowl. Dump the cheese in and let it make love for a minute. Now add the noodles and toss-toss-toss to creamy perfection with some tongs. Serve your guests (or eat it all yourself).

As a side dish, I suggest you make these… garlic butter roasted mushrooms from Smitten Kitchen. These were some dang good mushrooms and really easy to prepare. (Well, once you had the mushrooms clean, anyway. Mushrooms are kind of disgusting and it helps not to think about how they grow as you’re eating them.) If you don’t like mushrooms, you could make a nice veggie side or do something silly like a salad.

I didn’t change a thing about the mushrooms and they were perfect.

One thought on “Something relevant! (I love easy food.)

Leave a Reply

