I want more Chinese.

I guess that will have to wait until the weekend, though.

So, I went to see The King’s Speech. (My dad went with me. I told him he had to if he wanted me to watch The Green Hornet with him.) It was so good! I mean, I expected it to be “critic” good, but I didn’t expect it to be nearly as interesting and entertaining as it was.

I really, really liked it. Really. Liked. It.

Anyway, I thought I’d share some of the things I’ve made recently. I’ve been in a cooking rut (eating out a lot and mooching food off of others). I made bread a while back and I don’t think I shared that recipe with you. I also made black bean burgers.

The bread was just a simple white bread. “Oat Bread” to be specific.

I followed this recipe exactly. I made rolls. They were yummy.

I also made Black Bean Burgers (from here). They tasted pretty good. They were really filling, but they were also way too soft. They fall apart in the bun, which made them difficult to eat. I’m wondering if it’s because I used panko instead of plain bread crumbs… but if I make them again, I’ll add more breadcrumbs to mix in an attempt to firm them up.

PS: I love food processors. I also love my Kitchen Aid a little more every time I use it.

4 thoughts on “I want more Chinese.

    • Haha. I’m so glad my “Really. Like. It.” could help you out.

      Seriously, though… it was good. There was some history, a nice little love story, inner struggle, a cocky Australian who just totally kicks ass (when I grow up, I want to be just like him), and a story of friendship. It has a lot of good things going for it.

  1. My best bud is a speechie, so she made me go watch this too. I thought it was excellent. Not what I expected at all (I was complaining like no tomorrow because I wanted to see an action movie!) hahaha

    I need you here in Oz to help me cook. I’m so lazy been eating salad (or what I call grass) almost every day!

    • Ew. Salad. *gag*

      I made a spaghetti sauce with onion and butter tonight. It wasn’t my favorite, but my parents seemed to love it. I guess I’ll have to try and tweak it if I make it again. It tasted too acidic, I think.

      I think I might make cheese and bean enchiladas next week… or baked potato soup. I can’t imagine either of those being a bad idea.

Leave a Reply

