Pasta a la Allison.

Adapted (healthified) from The Pioneer Woman (because while butter and cream are awesome, it’s March and summer, the season of half nakedness, is just around the corner.)

((I only slimmed down the cream part. Butter is a health food.*))

You’ll need:

  • ¾ lb penne pasta (I used Smart Taste for the calcium, fiber and white pasta-ness)
  • roughly 1 lb shrimp (small-medium sized, unless you want to chop it into bite sized pieces), peeled and deveined
  • 3 tbsp butter *
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • ½ cups white wine or low sodium chicken broth (DON’T DRINK COOKING WINE!)
  • 1 8 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 1 cup fat free half and half **
  • fresh parsley (and basil), to taste
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Preparation Instructions

Boil pasta until al dente.

Take your shrimp and heat 1 tbsp butter and olive oil in a skillet. Add the shrimp and cook until just opaque. Avoid over cooking them.  Remove from heat, allow to cool and remove the tails if necessary. (If you have large shrimp, let them cool for a few minutes and chop the shrimp into bite –sized pieces.) Set aside.

Dice the onion and garlic and add to a skillet with 2 tbsp butter and 2 tbsp olive oil; sauté, stirring occasionally. After the garlic and onions begin to soften, add your white wine (or chicken broth). Let the wine evaporate for a few minutes, stirring occasionally.

Now add the tomato sauce and stir until well combined. Then add 1 cup of half and half. Stir again until well combined. Turn heat down to allow the sauce to simmer.

Chop your herbs and add about 1 tbsp of each type to the sauce. (I couldn’t find basil, so I added a pinch of the dried stuff. Fresh would be better.)

Add your shrimp back into the sauce. Give it a stir and add salt and pepper to taste. Now add the cooked penne pasta and toss to incorporate.

Serve with some salad, broccoli, or something else really green. Don’t forget about bread!

This is what you get (as leftovers because I’m still a failure at taking photos BEFORE eating):

Leftover Yums... Penne a la Allison

Mmmm. Tomato cream might become my favorite!

* Ok, not really. Butter is not so good for you, but it really does include some nutrients! And it’s not all chemical-loaded like margerine.

** So, I know I said butter is better than margerine because of the lack of chemicals… but I’m sure fat free half and half is probably the least natural thing I’ve ever heard of. Whatever, I do what I want.

4 thoughts on “Pasta a la Allison.

  1. I was taught to never use wine in cooking you wouldn’t drink :)

    Butter is delicious. I didn’t grow up eating it though (my Italian family never eats butter with bread and uses olive oil in cooking) but then I met Dave and bam! Now I buy butter.

    • I know, I know… but I only had peach flavored white wine. That wouldn’t work well in here, so I had to make do. I plan on hitting the liquor store this weekend to buy some real stuff.

      The crappy cooking wine worked… for cooking. I had no other option, haha.

      Oh, butter is SO GOOD. I try not to use it TOO much, but sometimes you just have to have a piece of bread smothered in it. It’s so comforting.

  2. I have a love hate relationship with food posts.
    Love: the food always looks damn fine and I get hungry
    Hate: the food always looks damn fine and I get hungry

    See my dilemma?

    I burnt toast this morning. No fair. Now I’m mega hungry…

    • Hah. That’s my relationship with them too! I’m always reading them at work and I’m usually starving. Then I have to wait until I have a chance to make these things and there’s always a backlog. I always have a bunch of recipes and only one meal to make.

      PS: I’m really good at burning bread. I’m destroyed a many frozen garlic breads.

Leave a Reply

