Books of 2011 (a mid-March update).

So, I haven’t gotten very far in my reading challenge. This is why I can’t do 52 books in a year. I only get a chance to read right before bed… and then I’m tired.

I’m on book #5. I’m nearly finished with it.

Without further ado, the books I’ve read:

  1. Dancing Girls by Margaret Atwood (I liked a few of the stories, but not many.)
  2. Juliet, Naked by Nick Hornby (I’d recommend this one, unless you hate musical-type things.)
  3. Plum Lucky by Janet Evanovich (A between the novels story… not the best, better than poo.)
  4. Practical Demonkeeping by Christopher Moore (I could appreciate this novel, but it was a little too dark for my tastes.)

That said, after Practical Demonkeeping, I picked up Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove (book #5). It also contains darker humor, but I’m enjoying it more.

When I finish Lust Lizard, I’ll move on to Love in the Time of Cholera. I’ve read a few fluffy books… its time for something a little more serious. (A LDfriend mentioned it in a sad, romance-based email and it sounds like a lovely book.)

I also need to find a lightly illustrated version of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass. I’ve never read either one, but I think it might be nice.

4 thoughts on “Books of 2011 (a mid-March update).

  1. I haven’t heard any of the above. How do you know what books to choose from? My friend recently got me into Fantasy novels – I know, but strangely I like em!

    Alice in Wonderland is nice, read it as a kid don’t remember much of it now. I think I like the fantasy world from these type of books as a child. Also, Enid Blyton – The Magic Faraway tree…. awww memories…

    • I like some fantasy books. I definitely prefer fiction to non-fiction.

      I “discovered” Atwood when a friend (Cloudy J, actually) suggested I read The Handmaid’s Tale. Juliet, Naked just looked interesting at the library (and I had heard of Hornby before).

      Janet Evanovich was an author Kristi, I believe, mentioned a couple times. And Christopher Moore… well, I read “Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Friend” and thought it was funny. I didn’t enjoy the most recent two books as much as I enjoyed that one.

      So, long story short, I get suggestions from friends and run with it. :)

      I think the fantasy world of Wonderland would be a good medicine for real life.

  2. In 2009 I attempted, and more or less succeeded, at reading 52 books, more or less one a week. Although I found that I was “cheating” and getting quite a few shorter books plus I counted a few audio books (perfect for car rides or crafting time). During that time I was using GoodReads (confession I opened up the site and scanned my “read” list to find most my recommendations below) to track all of my books and all of the books that I wanted to read. It’s a pretty nifty site.

    I really have no idea what kind of books you like but here are some books I think are good:

    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo & The Girl who Played with Fire: I’d been interested in reading these and then my father recommended the first. So I used Christmas Gift cards to buy them (I’d be happy to loan them out). Awesome reads if you don’t mind quite a bit of intrigue plus murder/rape etc. Warning – I got sucked in and stayed up until 3am reading one work night.
    The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho: A short but deep thinking type book.
    Life Expectancy, Dean Koontz: Very quirky slightly-fantasy-esque but very funny.
    Odd Thomas Series, Dean Koontz: Again very quirky a bit of fantasy. Very funny (I was laughing outloud sometimes), very hard to put down. Although I did start a bit later in the series [I Do Not recommend this it ruins the earlier books]. The first one’s aren’t quite as quirky-funny. I think Koontz developed the style as he went along.
    Artemis Fowl Series, Eoin Colfer: A whole bunch of fun fantasy-type kid/teen books. Reminded me somewhat of the Harry Potter books but lighter. All quick reads that are highly engrossing and often funny.
    Three Cups of Tea, Greg Mortenson: If you’re a sucker for heart-warming charities and what not you’ll like this account of the authors quest to build schools in Central Asia.
    Eat, Pray, Love, Elizabeth Gilbert: The book has now taken a good bit of flack with the movie and all but I really liked it and found it rather inspiring.
    Water for Elephants: I don’t know why but this book was just such a great read.

    I read Love in the Time of Cholera. I’d seen quite a few great reviews so I was a bit let down when I didn’t like it that much. But still a worth-while read. If you’re interested I have a nice copy of “More Annotated Alice: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass” that you could borrow. I’d have to hunt it up but it should be somewhere in my house. If memory serves there are quite a few pictures but the annotations with all kinds of interesting information are pretty neat.

    Wow….sorry to leave a whole novel as a comment. I obviously love books (and crafts).

    • No no! I appreciate long suggestion-type comments! Haha. I think I have The Alchemist on my “to read” list. And those Dragon Tattoo books… I’ve been tossing the idea of reading them around for a while. I’ve heard mixed reviews on them.

      Oh, and the Three Cups of Tea book — I’ve considered reading that for a while.

      I read Eat Pray Love waaaay before the movie. The book is good, the movie doesn’t do it justice BUT I also didn’t think the movie was as terrible as people were making it out to be.

Leave a Reply

