How a book can go from normal and enjoyable to gross in one singular passage.

“She was no longer the little girl, the newcomer, whom he had undressed, one article of clothing at a time, with little baby games: first these little shoes for the little baby bear, then this little chemise for the little puppy dog, next these little flowered panties for the little bunny rabbit, and a little kiss on her papa’s delicious little dickey-bird.”

That’s from “Love in the Time of Cholera.” It was creepy enough to know that Florentino had taken up a lover who was 14 when he was in his 70s. It was additionally creepy because it seemed she was somehow part of the family line.

So that, my friends, is how I went from being mildly disturbed by an old man’s “love” for a 14 year old to completely grossed out.

Towards the beginning of the book, there was a lovely passage about Fermina’s wedding night and the respect and care her new husband had for her and her fear of losing her virginity.

The passage quoted above null and voided it.
I can’t say I’d recommend this book to anyone now.

 

Here’s to hoping the next book isn’t nearly as disappointing.

 

5 thoughts on “How a book can go from normal and enjoyable to gross in one singular passage.

  1. Ewww. What does putting that in there even accomplish for the book? Does it even drive the narrative in any way or is it all, “Hey, here’s some random pedophilia for you?”

    • I feel like it only made me like Florentino so much less. I mean, I feel like the author spent most of the book making us feel for him and his love story, even though he was a bit of a slut. Then this 14 year old enters the picture and he just gets to be a creepy old man.

      My only thought was that perhaps this was suppose to make him seem less perfect? But he wasn’t perfect to begin with (because he was a bit of a slut), so it wasn’t necessary.

      Long story short: I don’t feel like it accomplished anything. And that particular passage in itself only made me cringe.

  2. Please don’t read “Lolita” next. It might put you off reading for life.

    I don’t get why that passage is in Cholera either. And “dickey-bird” is made of cringe.

    • I don’t really plan on reading Lolita… ever?

      Dickey-bird is awful. I mean, OHMYGOD HOW WAS THAT A GOOD IDEA?!?

      PS: I unintentionally stole your cringe when I responded to Jenny.

      CRINGE!

  3. Pingback: 26 in 52: 2011 style. « A girl & happenstance

Leave a Reply

