The Rental Car from Hades

So, yesterday I dropped my car off for bumper repairs (someone backed into my car on April 1st). Insurance would cover a rental car, so I took them up on that offer. I usually like driving cars that don’t belong to me.

Anyway, I was super stoked because YAY IT’S A FORD FOCUS AGAIN!

I got in the car and it beeped at me immediately. Apparently Rental Car Guy popped the trunk but DIDN’T CLOSE IT! So, I got out, closed the trunk and hopped back in.

Sirius radio? AWESOME!
Nope. That was a lie. I would have had to activate it with my cell phone. No way am I paying for crappy music, ok?

Then my car informed me that I could not exceed 80 MPH. That’s fine, but lame. I feel so stiffled, even though I hardly ever go over 70 to begin with.

So, I drive my car back to work, lock all the doors and happily go into work.

At lunch time, I hop back into the car and turn the regular radio on. I turn out onto the road to head out to Walmart. I turn at the red light and my radio goes dead. I read the little digital display: "Fasten seatbelt to resume radio."

Whaaaaaaaaa?

So I fasten my seatbelt and the music turns back on. I roll my eyes because, hello distraction… but whatever. Fastening your seatbelt is the right thing to do.

I get out to Walmart and open my door. This is when I realize that when I open my driver side door, all the doors unlock.
YAY FOR POWER LOCKS, right?

WRONG! When I returned from Walmart, $42 poorer because my DVD player only half works, I unlock my door and sit down.

Something is ticking! Why is the car ticking.
OH GOD, IT’S GETTING FASTER!
"Start car to avoid alarm" (or some crap like that).
TICKTICKTICKTICKICKICKICKCKCKCKKKKKKKK.

So I start the car real fast as the ticking is approaching warp speed and the alarm doesn’t go off.
I make a mental note while my heart slows down to never lock the door with the power locks again!

So, I have a nanny car that also tried to embarrass me in the parking lot of Walmart. It’s like a nanny and a toddler in ONE!

I want my car back. I miss him.

4 thoughts on “The Rental Car from Hades

    • It was! Oh god, it was so annoying. I usually do what I’m suppose to do (minus seatbelts on short trips, I know, I know). To have the car constantly reminding me and being all, “I’m gonna embarrass you in a few moments by emitting a very loud noise…. HAHAHAH SUCKER!” was very uncool.

      I have my lovely Echo back. I’m happy again. :)

    • (Your comment didn’t post because, for some reason, it was waiting for moderation. I approved it obviously, but that was weird. Hopefully it knows to just automatically approve you now. Haha.)

      Glad you enjoyed the rental car from Hades. I was never so glad to give a rental car back. :)

Leave a Reply

