Veggie soup!

Ok, so veggie soup is kind of awesome. This is mostly because, well, you can make it with whatever you want, really. Last night I made some like this:

What I used: (makes about 6-10 servings, I guess)

  • Olive oil
  • 4 carrots
  • 4 stalks of celery
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 pinch dried thyme
  • 2 pinches dried parsley
  • a bag of frozen corn
  • 28 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 14 oz can of white beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 14 oz cans of veggie broth
  • 1 14 oz can of water
  • 1 cup cooked pasta

What I did:

  1. Chop clean, peeled carrots. Chop garlic. Dump into a pot with oil over medium heat. Stir.
  2. Chop celery and onion. Dump into same pot with oil. Saute for a few mintues until veggies become softer. Add corn, warm through. Add herbs.
  3. Dump in tomatoes with juice and beans. Stir. Add broth and water. Simmer for 20 – 30 minutes.
  4. Add pasta and serve.

Next time:

This soup was actually very good, but next time, I think I’ll add a jar of pizza sauce instead of water. Or maybe I’ll replace a can of broth with it and keep the water. I don’t know. Maybe I’ll skip the thyme then too (since pizza sauce is kind of herb-y to begin with). It’s worth playing with. : )

Oh, and I’ll just use the whole bunch of carrots (about 6?) because carrots are the best part of veggie soup in my world.

Leave a Reply

