26 in 52: 2011 style.

In 2011, I read the following books:

1) Bossypants by Tina Fey (Loved it and I’ll re-read it someday… Sooooo funny. God, I love that woman.)

2) Dancing Girls by Margaret Atwood (I don’t really remember this one well. I didn’t like it much, that’s what I know.)

3) Juliet, Naked by Nick Hornby (I remember this being a fun read. It’s about music, a fan and a fan’s (ex)girlfriend… Relationships in general.)

4) Plum Lucky by Janet Evanovich (A between the fluff fluffy read. Not as good as the actual series.)

5 & 6) Practical Demonkeeping & The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove by Christopher Moore (Not as funny as Lamb, but quite entertaining, none-the-less.)

7) Love in the Time of Cholera by, oh who the hell cares! (I hated this book. I am not linking to it. It had one of the most revolting, most vile passages I’ve ever read within it. I wrote about my disgust, actually.)

8) Twenties Girl by Sophia Kinsella (A fluffy chick lit read about a girl being haunted by her dead grandmother (or great grandmother, I can’t remember) and falling in love in the process.)

9) Every Inch of Her by Peter Sheridan (Eh. Just eh.)

10) Island of the Sequined Love Nun by Christopher Moore (A funny cult-type book, I suppose you could call it.)

11) Lost in a Good Book by Jasper Fforde (Part of the Thursday Next series. It gave me weird dreams about being eradicated.)

12) Wicked Appetite by Janet Evanovich (A non-Plum novel. I’d like to see her develop more of these books. I found it intriguing, but it’s not anything earth-moving.)

13) Sizzling Sixteen by Janet Evanovich (Stephanie Plum fun.)

14) Hurricane Punch by Tim Dorsey (A book recommended to me by Tom… It was nice to get out of all my chick lit.)

15 & 16) Can You Keep a Secret? & Remember Me? by Sophia Kinsella (Girl seeking promotion and blurts out secrets to her (unknown to her) new boss… I believe. And a book about a girl with amnesia who reverts back to being herself after changing into another person after marriage.)

17 & 18) The Well of Lost Plots & Something Rotten by Jasper Fforde (On second thought, these might have been the books that made me dream of eradication.)

19) Double Whammy by Carl Hiassen (About fishing and murder. Another Tom-recommended book that snapped me out of a chick lit haze.)

20) Size 12 is Not Fat by Meg Cabot (An ex-pop singer who now works in a college dorm is the only person capable of solving a murder the occurs in her dorm. Also, she’s in love with her roomate/ex-fiance’s brother.)

21) Metro Girl by Janet Evanovich (Non-Plum. It was ok. I have little urge to read more about these characters.)

22 & 23) Size 14 is Not Fat Either & Big Boned by Meg Cabot (Ex-pop star solves mysteries again… While still in love with roommate/ex-fiance’s brother.)

24) Soulless by Gail Carriger (Vampires, werewolves, soul-suckers and victorian fashion meets science, steampunk and smut. Oh, and an independent spinster meets her match. Pretty much my new book addiction.)

25) Fluke: Or I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings by Christopher Moore (A cute book about whale researchers/mutant sea beings who live under water off the coast of Chile (I think it was Chile, anyway). I mean, dude got swallowed by a whale. And met whaley boys.)

26) Changeless by Gail Carriger (A continuation of the story. More steampunk, more smut, more mystery (why do the werewolves and vampires seem afflicted by the inability to remain immortals?)… But then she gets pregnant and her werewolf husband gets mad.)

I’m finishing out the year by re-reading Gods Behaving Badly.

Leave a Reply

