I made potato soup!

Of course I didn’t take a photo before I ate because, well, I was quite hungry.

It’s from the Budget Bytes blog & it’s a slow cooker recipe. I just had to chop things up, throw it in the slow cooker in the morning and let it do it’s thing. Here’s the link.

The only thing I did differently is… I thickened the milk with flour (until it was thick enough to coat the side of the pot when I stirred it) on the stove top and pureed the soup right after adding it (the milk) to the slowcooker. I also cooked it on high for 3 hours and then turned it back for the rest of the time (5 more hours) while I ran errands and whatnot.

I’m sure it would have been fine on high the whole time, but it just seemed like an awful lot for potatoes.

Oh, and I don’t know if it was just a coincidence, but I can NEVER get milk to thicken up like this… but this time I used organic (fat free) milk and it worked perfectly! Heat the milk and flour and stir stir stir for a few minutes! I’ll have to try it again with normal milk and see if I can get the same results.

It was just soooo creamy and smooth! I was so impressed with myself!

Anyway, it was a good, solid soup. Adding bacon or cheese would turn it into a loaded baked potato soup. It seems pretty versatile. I’ll probably make it again. It’s a pretty cheap soup. (Very nice on these cold winter days. So so cold.)

Next week I’m making Pasta e Fagioli though. I still have a bunch of celery and carrots left over.

And my pantry is FULL OF PASTA!

5 thoughts on “I made potato soup!

    • I liked it. My sister was not a fan of the celery taste. Maybe next time I’ll cut back on the celery or try just leaving it out completely to please her.

  1. I finally made this last week after reading about it here and it getting stuck in brain. “potato soup . . . potato soup . . . potato soup”. And it was delicious! I fried up some bacon and steamed some brocoli and crumbled in some mozza and it was AMAZING.

Leave a Reply

