Unslumping yourself is not easily done…

I’ve been trying to look at and listen to a lot of inspiring or hopeful things lately. I’m trying to change myself with a little positivity.

I was so stoked when Postsecret tweeted a link to a reading of “Oh, the Places You’ll Go” done by people at Burning Man.

I’m pretty sure Dr. Seuss is the reason I love my books just so so much. It’s all his fault. So thank you, Theodor Seuss Geisel.

I also thought this story about a sibling standing up for his little brother was inspiring and amazing in so many different ways. Supportive and a little bit world changing. This is what love looks like, I tell you.

4 thoughts on “Unslumping yourself is not easily done…

  1. That story about the brothers is awesome. :-)
    It is hard to unslump and unstick. I had dinner with my parents, and a lot of the conversation was how I need to get unslumped and unstuck. It ain’t easy, Warrior Princess. Good luck.

    • We need to find that part of the brain that likes to focus on slumping and sticking and just… cut it out. Unslumping and unsticking is a lot harder than a lot of people think! (And everyone has their own way to do it, which makes it even trickier.)

      And trying to stay informed about the world while also being a positive thinker… it’s damn near impossible! 95% of the news is horrible, terrible shit!

      I really do love that story. It’s about fighting ignorance and about unconditional love. I’m glad the brother learned about it, despite having such a shitty-at-it dad.

    • Oh, another of my favorites when I was a kid was “Snow” by PD Eastman. (It wasn’t Dr Seuss, but it had the Cat in the Hat stamp of approval!)

      I loved One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish. And I remember that There’s a Wocket in my Pocket sort of freaked me out. Haha. Hop on Pop was fun too. :)

      If I ever reproduce, I’m buying every. single. Seuss. book. (And Snow because it rocked.)

Leave a Reply

