“A Workplace Prayer”

My therapist shared the idea of "a workplace prayer" with me during my last session. I like the idea of bring a bit of peace to a job that might be stressful, or maybe just not your particular cup of tea, at the moment. I found this one through Google. (I’ve altered it slightly because I never really address my prayers to anyone in particular. Just the JesusHippyBuddhaDude that occupies the religious section of my brain).

Basically, you can address this to whatever/whoever it is you pray/talk to on a regular basis. Whatever feels right.

As I enter this workplace, let me bring your presence with me. I speak your peace, your grace and your perfect order into the atmosphere of my workplace.

I ask for your presence over all that will be spoken, thought, decided and accomplished this day.

I thank you for the gifts and skill you have deposited in me. I commit to using them responsibly and well.

Give me a fresh supply of truth and beauty on which to draw as I do my job today.

Bless my creativity, my ideas, my energy so that even my smallest task may bring you honor.

When I’m confused, guide me. When I’m weary, energize me.

When I’m burned out, infuse me with the light of your spirit.

May the work I do and the way I do it bring hope, life and courage to all that I come into contact with today.

And even in this day’s most stressful moments, may I rest in your peace.

2 thoughts on ““A Workplace Prayer”

Leave a Reply

