From memory.

Baked Ziti

I think baked ziti is the first recipe I’ve been able to commit to memory.

Every time I make it, I think it’s a tiny bit different. This time:

1 pound dry ziti pasta
1 onion, chopped
1 can white beans
2 (26 ounce) jars spaghetti sauce
6-8 slices provolone cheese
1 1/2 cups sour cream
6 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese
small package of frozen (chopped) spinach, thawed

I saute the onion until it’s soft. (I crack some pepper over it. Also, tonight I added some white cooking wine and a sprinkle of garlic powder.) While this is happening, I  bring a pot of water to a boil for the pasta. Then I add the thawed spinach and white beans to the onions and heat for a bit. Once it’s all warm, I add the spaghetti sauce and let it simmer for however long it takes my noodles to cook. Once the pasta is done and drained, I take everything off the heat and assemble my ziti dish.

1/2 pasta in the bottom of the pan, then the provolone slices and the sour cream. On top of that, spread half the sauce. Then repeat with the other half of the noodles, sprinkle the mozzarella and cover with the rest of the sauce.

Bake at 350*F for 30-40 minutes. Serve.

I never serve it with a veggie because I’m lazy… but it really should have a salad. I don’t have a salad spinner and I never feel like being that healthy. Besides, there’s spinach in the sauce! :)

I love baked ziti. I had been craving it for about a week and a half. So glad I finally got to eat some!

I just need to add that I’m super bummed that it’s getting harder to find my 2% cheeses.
It’s really sad because it’s so much better than regular cheese calorie-wise and tastes just as delicious.

4 thoughts on “From memory.

Leave a Reply

