A reading meme.

I got this from Tom. Who got it from someone else.

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack?

This depends on where I’m reading. In bed, I rarely snack, but if I do snack it’s on dos gummy bears. At work I hardly ever snack because, well, I already get pissed at customers who interrupt my reading time! Haha. If they interrupted snack and reading time, it would be terrible.

In my living room, I snack all the time. Currently I snack on trail mix or cheez its. It really depends on what I have in my apartment… Something un-messy.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?

Not unless the book is for writing OR it’s a textbook. Textbooks are make to be written and marked up because they are full of important information. Even if it’s just important enough to remember for a test and then forget immediately after *coughstatisticscough*

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears?

Usually, I use whatever paper is near me. So, like Tom, I sometimes use a subscription postcard. Usually I end up with an old work note or scrap paper. My favorite bookmarkers are sticky notes. Right now I’m using a ratty sticky note. If the book is mine forever, used, or a mass market paperback, I will dog-ear pages. I probably shouldn’t. It seems disrespectful to the book gods.

Fiction, Non-fiction, or both?

I almost always read fiction. Every now and then I’ll read a self-help book, a book on feminism, or reread a textbook, apparently. (Art through the Ages: Volume One, for example.) I tend to enjoy books that are light or funny. I don’t read a lot of comedy books, though. I simply refer fictional books with a dose of humor thrown in.

During the winter, though, when my mood is darker, sometimes I will read a Very Serious Book and it will make me want to paint my face white and look sad all the time.

Hard copy or audiobooks?

Oh my god, I just borrowed an audiobook from the library and I haven’t given it a single listen! I will today on my way down to my doctor’s appointment, but I’m pretty confident that I am a hard copy sort of gal. I like the feel of the paper on my skin and I like being able to see my reading progress via bookmark. This is probably why e-readers and I aren’t bestest of pals. No visual progress.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?

I try to read to the end of chapters. Sometimes I get super sleepy, though, and I can’t make it. In these instances I will begrudgingly place my bookmark and pass out.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?

I’m not as smart as Tom, so sometimes I come across words I don’t know. If I can’t figure it out via context clues AND I have an Internet device near me, I will “define:” google it. Then I know, no one knows my ignorance and I can finish my book with complete understanding.

What are you currently reading?

I’m bouncing between Sacre Bleu by Christopher Moore (Thanks Tom! I promise I’ll send it back when I’m done!) and Art Through the Ages: Volume One. They are related through art but completely different, so it is not confusing one bit. For example, the Venus of Willendorf, Hall of Bulls and Sumerian cuneiform have not been mentioned in Sacre Bleu. At least not so far.

What is the last book you bought?

Um, I don’t even know. I think it was Fragile Things. I think. By Neil Gaiman.

Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?

I’m reading two books currently. My rule for this is, the books have to be totally and completely different. So I can’t read two chick lit books because I’d probably confuse the story line. I could read a feminist manifesta and a chick lit book because I will not confuse female empowerment and chasing a boy clumsily because you are obsessed with him. Just like I won’t confuse The Code of Hammurabi with a drunken, foul-smelling fictional account of Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec.

Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read?

Before bed. Preferably well before bed so I can get 2 or 3 chapters in before my Xanax gets popped and I get sleepyfaced. I also don’t mind reading on my long lunch breaks. If I can read uninterrupted for longer than 20 minutes, I’m happy.

Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?

This is a silly question. I prefer good books. If they happen to be part of a series, I will read them all from book 1 to the current release. If I buy a series, I must buy from book 1 to the current release as I read through them. All these books must be in the same format (all paperback or all hardcover and all the same size, ok?) or I will look at my bookshelf and cry. Sometimes I get really sad when I finish a good stand alone book because it’s over. Then I stop being sad because I realize I can read it over and over again.

Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?

I really love “Gods Behaving Badly.” The story line is adorable. I also live mythology, so there’s that. Um, all of “The Pirates in an Adventure with…” books are fabulous. (Gideon Defoe, I believe is the author.) Oh, and “Lamb” by Christopher Moore… If you’re not easily offended by heresy and things Ike that. (God has a sense of humor, guys! I mean, why else would he have created penises, am I right?)

How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?)

I put my books wherever they fit. If they are part of a series, I try to keep them clustered. That is the extent of my organizational skills.

4 thoughts on “A reading meme.

  1. I loved Henri Toulouse-Latrec in “Sacre Bleu.” It probably has more penisey things in it that “The Code of Hammurabi.” I would assume so, anyway. You may keep “Sacre Bleu,” to represent the color blue on your bookshelf. Or give it to another reader. It’s a great book, but it has a lot of information included. It’s not like a Stephanie Plum: Lula, Cluck in a Bucket, Ranger, Morelli, Joyce Barnhardt, car blows up, done.

    Also, “Sacre Bleu” made me read more about HT-L. He was a really fascinating guy. Hooray, learning!

      • Sometimes, the simplest explanations are the truest. ;-)

        In my GoodReads review, I wrote how this was the best Tom Robbins novel since “Half-Asleep in Frog Pajamas,” because it reads like a Tom Robbins book more than a Chris Moore. Robbins is funny as hell, too, but a little thoughtier. If you want to try some of Tom Robbins’ work, maybe try “Skinny Legs & All” after “Sacre Bleu.” He does a lot with color and painting in that one as well. And penises, come to think of it. It was one of his streak of four really, truly great books back in the 80’s. “Skinny Legs & All” (art); “Jitterbug Perfume” (perfumery, Indian and Tibetan religions–my favorite of his novels); “Still Life With Woodpecker” (environmental terrorism); and “Half-Asleep in Frog Pajamas” (my second favorite).

        I gave away my copy of “Jitterbug Perfume,” or I’d send it to you. It is really awesome, imho.

        • I will be reading all those books soon. I actually prefer my comedy “thoughtier.” It takes the guilt out of the pleasure.

          My library card is fine-free, so I’ll reserve them tonight. I’mma start with the religiousy one.

Leave a Reply

