Internet. FOREVER!

I haven’t caught up with my ‘hood for a while.

Dear faithful friends, I have not forgotten about you. I simply have lots going on, which is different from 6 years ago when I was a student worker and I had only part-time job responsibilities, my sister was too young to marry and I wasn’t trying to do yoga every day and get to the gym 3-5 times a week.

You see, my life was a lot simpler back before I got a “real” job, moved out and decided to let my mental health take a noise dive. Then I had to work really hard to get my mental health back to normal, get my body in shape and now maintain my new, sun-shines-out-my-ass outlook.

Seriously, optimism is hard sometimes.

Lately, I feel like I’ve fallen out of love with the gym. I don’t know if I should back off of it for a few weeks (as I am doing yoga every morning — and usually it’s a Vinyasa flow, aka: sweaty-making yoga). I’m afraid if I back off, I’ll just keep backing off until eventually my membership is useless and I’m paying $35/month just to say I have a gym membership.

But tonight… I would have rather spent another hour at work than have gone to the gym. This is probably partially because I am halfway through an amazing book and would have been more than happy to keep reading. Everything Neil Gaiman writes is fantastic. (Sometimes dark) Fairy tales for grown ups — because we should never forget the beauty of a good fairy tale, even if it does have a dark twist.

Tonight I was happy just doing an average workout on the elliptical for 45 minutes and leaving. Usually I push myself a lot harder. Maybe I should figure on pushing myself less at the gym and more in my morning yoga.

I don’t know where the balance is. I feel like my morning yoga, when I really push myself, feels more fulfilling than bouncing around on an elliptical for 45 minutes.

Enough about the gym, Allison’s bachelorette party is this weekend at the Summer Brews and Tunes festival. It’s a winery event located at the vineyards of Hershey. We’re eating at Devon’s beforehand and then we’ll go hang out, listen to music, drink wine and be merry.

I love that my sister’s getting married. I’m so excited for her. BUT I’ll be so glad to have my weekends totally free again sometimes by the end of September, haha.

Yesterday I donated blood. I can finally cross that off my 2013 bucket list! It wasn’t painful and I’m definitely going to do it again when I’m able. You know you lose a pound when you give blood. If that’s not a good enough reason to do it, I don’t know what is.

Oh wait, I do know a better reason — they tell you to “eat well.” They actually told me “the more [food] the better!” I’m game for that. It makes me feel less guilty when I eat two pieces of cake.

“It’s for the people who’ll need by blood,” I say. “This cake is for them.”

And as my “reward” for being an awesome person, the Universe (aka: Frontier, the company hosting the drive, and the local radio station) decided to grace me with two free tickets to the Renaissance Faire. So I’ll finally get to go see what all the fuss is about and I get to do it FOR FREE! Hooray!

That’s my general life update.

… And now I’m attempting to catch up with all of yours!

2 thoughts on “Internet. FOREVER!

    • I finished the book in two days. That was reading only while I was at work. Had I had a day to myself, I could have easily read it cover to cover in one sitting (not including bathroom breaks, of course).

      That reminds me, I should text my cousin and see where she has the book stuck. She’s moving to Boston soon and I don’t want her taking my library-borrowed book with her! Haha.

Leave a Reply

