lokah samastah sukhino bhavantu

I’ve been toying with the idea of getting a tattoo for a while. But they’re permanent. Like, really permanent. Also, I think things look prettier in not-english.

Soooo… I’ve spent a good hour and a half googling yoga tattoos and mantras and I found the mantra we’ve been chanting in Saturday yoga.

Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu

It’s simple. It’s hopeful. It’s an idealist thought — which is how I feel on the inside when I’m properly serotonin’d.

I like the Sanskrit, but I also don’t know Sanskrit, so really, the masses in the internet might be writing “May the shit always hit you in the face.” Then there’s, the mantra itself (left) in my English alphabet, which actually looks cute cute in this particular typeface. The English translation (right) is also pretty cute. I could do a little henna pattern to the left and right of  it to make it more balanced.

Do any of you, mighty anonymous readers of my blog (the tens of you), know Sanskrit?

Of course, once I decide on the tattoo, I’ll have to choose where to stick it. Under my armpit maybe? On my neck?  On my ribcage? Between my shoulder blades? On my shoulder?

It has to be somewhere that’s easily covered for work but also easy to expose at all other times because I’d want to show it off.

Leave a Reply

