Re-reading books and other Goodreads cheats.

I had the realization the other day that I should probably be including all the crappy ass textbooks I’m reading in my Goodreads titles because they’re consuming SO MUCH of my time and my professors generally make us read through the entire book because, well, apparently I’m paying them to tell me to read books. Terrible ones, in some cases — ones that SHOUT AT THE READER IN ALL CAPS BECAUSE THEY DON’T UNDERSTAND THAT bolding is also an acceptable way to draw attention to important sentences.

The problem with this is… I can’t remember all my textbook titles. They might all be on my Amazon purchase history. That’s probably a good place to start.

Another issue I have is my desire to re-read some of my more favorite books. I can’t re-list the books. They’re likely already listed in my “read” list, so they won’t really count towards my unofficial goal to read 20 books by the end of the year. (This probably won’t happen.)

Audiobooks? Do they count? What about graphic novels/comics? Do the images cancel out the legit reading?

Overthinking ridiculous things like Goodreads is what I do when I’m not thinking about communications law, public relations or the relationship between the media and society. (Side note: The Media and Society will probably be my most interesting class. The public relations class will probably be the most painful.)

I had a really great idea for a blog post about how unfairly millennials (and whatever the newest generation is) are viewed considering all the shit we have to put up with — ridiculously high school debt, lack of jobs (even with a 4-year degree) that pay an actual living wage, the idea that we’re slackers because we’re not “go-getter” yuppies and prefer to enjoy what we do… or at least give us the time and opportunity to do what we love to do… it’s all a lot of shit. So much shit.

Then I listened to the F*ck That meditation and I breathed out all the bullshit and I lost the post idea in the ether. Oh well, it’s been done before (image posted by postsecret).

946875_10151645467815240_1119659986_nAn image is worth a thousand words — even when there are words on it. As a millennial, I do find some of the younger millennials annoying, but this is mostly for their music and their use of over-sized headphones that make them look like faux audiophiles.

I mean, they probably think my earbuds and my lack of e-reader use makes me a weirdo, so I guess we’re even.

I did just buy an e-book. Maybe I’m becoming more legit. Too legit to quit. Shit.

My thoughts are too disjointed. I should probably not be blogging right now.

But I’ll push onward.

Yesterday, I was in Rehoboth Beach, DE. The 3 hour and 30 minute drive turned into a 6 hours one. We arrived around 1:30 or 2 pm (I can’t remember any more because I was starting to become delirious) and then drove around for-everrrrr to find a place to park. We got custard, coffee, put our toes in the ocean, and did a little shopping before we hit up Dogfish Head Brew Pub.

That place is so amazing. The beer is great, but the food is just as good. The calamari, the crab cake sandwich, the scrapple burger topped with an egg.

All. Divine.

Then we drove home. That got us back around 2 am. I’m exhausted and filled to the brink with calories. I can’t imagine eating anything else, but also I want to eat the left over Chinese food in Matt’s fridge.

In other news, I’m kitty sitting for the next 2 weeks. I was worried that I somehow lost the kittens before I even opened the door, but was relieved to find that the cats have taken up residence under the bed. I lured one out with snuggles. The other is still not convinced that I am not there to make its life hell.

He’ll come out eventually. He’ll have to eat and drink at some point. Maybe he’ll even start to trust me in a week and a half.

One thought on “Re-reading books and other Goodreads cheats.

  1. Audiobooks, ebooks, graphic novels all count to me! I don’t count single issue comics, just because. I would count my textbooks too if I were reading the whole thing. :)

Leave a Reply

