It’s been 4 months and 3 days since my last confession.

Let’s just skip the news about terror. It needs to stop. It probably won’t because the answer is kindness and hard work at the ground level. Let’s all agree that no one is radicalized by being treated with too much kindness, empathy and compassion and that the world would be infinitely better if everyone looked at one another as potential friends or family and then treated them as such. I may be a radical, but I’m a radical that thinks that all this would stop if we all embraced our oneness and accepted that some people will believe slightly different things spiritually and politically and even have different tastes in music and clothes. Deep down under it all, though, we’re all just fleshy sacks that need to live day to day by loving one another… even, as my yoga teacher said, the annoying ones.

But this post isn’t about that. This post is about my ordinary life, mostly untouched by the terror that had affected so many families in the past 48 hours. Life in my tiny bubble is mostly good. I’ve had a headache off and on for about 3 days and I slept 10 hours the other night out of what I can only guess was pure exhaustion. I’ve been busy. My sister has a baby shower coming up (because she’s pregnant with what will be the coolest baby ever) and I’m still plugging away at the school thing. (I’ve only taken 2 classes this semester. Last semester I took 3 online courses and it was the worst decision I’ve made in a long time.) I’m still seeing that wonderful guy who saved the kittens four months and 3 days ago. In fact, I’m nearly 100% moved in with him. Most of my stuff now lives at his (our) place. There are still boxes overtaking the living room and my yoga room is still unfinished, but all that’s left at my place is essentially junk, my bed, my bike and a wicker chair. (I don’t want to think about it. I have until the end of the month to get that stuff moved here.)

The guy is still pretty wonderful. He says things every day that make me feel like the luckiest girl alive. (He also says things that make me think I’m dating my father… and today I was subjected to some horrible cartoon which very quickly brought my headache back, but I suppose these are the dangers of living with someone.) He’s so observant and he tells me I’m beautiful almost every day. I still can’t believe how different he is from all the other ones. I feel lucky but also like I deserve this kind of guy.

We just hit our 5 month mark, so maybe the shit will hit the fan at 6 months.

I’ve been slacking a little on the yoga, so every time I do it (at least once a week, usually two or three times) my body feels wrecked for two days. This weekend I did yoga on both Saturday and Sunday (today). In fact, I just got back from an arm balances and inversions workshop and I feel really good. Sore as can be, but in a really good way. I’m hoping to to yoga more often than not during the week — maybe Monday, Tuesday and Thursday — but school and life responsibilities sometimes get in the way. My desire to do handstand one day needs to start overcoming my drive to kick back and relax.

Sometimes I feel like I’m in the “To lose balance sometimes for love is part of living a balanced life” phase of Eat, Pray Love. At least, that’s what I keep telling myself when I come home and make dinner, pull on sweatpants and sit down to watch some Orphan Black with this guy.

This guy.

That reminds me… I’ve also gotten into comic books graphic novels. Picture books Graphic novels are so much fun. Granted I have not read them all and I’ve generally stuck to suggestions from the boy, but he’s steered me pretty well. The first series I fell in love with is the Silver Surfer series by Dan Slott. And then I fell in love with Bitch Planet by Kelly Sue DeConnick (they have real feminist essays at the end and they’re great!), Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples, and Sex Criminals by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky. All but the Silver Surfer series is adult-centric, but they’re all wonderful and the art is fantastic.

I’ve rambled on long enough and I think I’ve given you the quick and detailed update of my life lately. I hope you are all doing well and enjoying life and I hope you are far removed from the harshest of our world’s realities. <3

2 thoughts on “It’s been 4 months and 3 days since my last confession.

    • SO MUCH has happened in the past couple months. It’s crazy how good things are right now. I’m riding this wave as far as I can, haha.

Leave a Reply

